ZendFramework 2

After we got everything installed, let’s get closer to the application code. As I’ve been using CodeIgniter for the most part of my projects, I now want to try something else in development and the best way to do that is by trying real-life example. So, I thought:

Who can possibly know more about php as a language as not the developers of the language itself?

So I thought that it’s a great idea to learn ZF2. I was really disappointed a bit later and here’s why:

  • Very-very complicated. Maybe only for me. All those Factory patterns, complicated Autoload features, etc.
  • I’ve been following the starter guide on the official Zend Framework site and it only made me completely confused.
  • For the example module in the documentation (the Alum), there are 3 pages (simple CRUD) and not a single MySQL query. Is this considered normal?

That’s primarily why I decided not to mess with ZF2 and write some-thing of my own. I’ve created a new repository at BitBucket, and already wrote several lines. Feel free to check those out.

If anybody thinks, that I’m missing something with ZF, please le me know 🙂

Leave a comment